Custom Search

Limerick's GAA History

Limerick's GAA History Login

Whos Online

We have 6 guests online

Ninja RSS Syndicator

TreatyGAA RSS Feed
Wednesday, 05 January 2011 22:06
Limerick vote to set up new hurling board

By Cliona Foley  ©

AFTER a year overshadowed by their off-field hurling controversy, Limerick clubs have firmly voted to set up a new hurling board within the county.
The proposal, from the Murroe/ Boher club, needed a two-thirds majority and surpassed that by five votes at the reconvened County Convention, which took place last Sunday after several weather-related postponements.
It was agreed to set up a 10-man committee to put together a proposed strategy for the new board in time for next month's county board meeting.
A proposal to Congress from the Millford club to seek to have security fencing on Hill 16 removed for next year's All-Ireland championship was also passed, as was another proposing the setting up of an All-Ireland minor 'B' championship in hurling.
But it was the more localised issue, of whether to set up a new board dedicated to domestic hurling matters, that caused most debate.
A lobby group of 16 people, four from each division and 14 of them former county players, mooted the idea last June and they had two meetings with county officials about the matter. But the county executive clearly indicated beforehand, in a letter to all clubs, that they felt setting up a separate hurling board would create "another layer of administration in the county."


Wednesday, 05 January 2011 21:44
O Riain leaves proud legacy


ONE of the GAA's most famous officials -- PS O Riain of Limerick -- has died at the age of 94.
Better known as Paddy Ryan, from Galbally, O Riain had close to 35 years' service on Central Council and was acknowledged as one of the country's top rule-book experts.
He was made Limerick's Central Council representative in 1975, having previously served on it during his term as Munster Council chairman (1967-71).
During his lengthy administrative service he served on many of the GAA's central sub-committees, as well as the GAA's all-powerful Management Committee, and he was also the long-time chairman of the Munster Players Injury Scheme up until 1996.
O Riain was also a Limerick football selector for 25 years as well as a Munster selector and, in his role as a Central Council delegate (before team coaches were appointed) he managed the 1980 All Stars on their tour to America.
He was the recipient of a special presentation at last year's Congress that was presented to him at his home due to ill-health. He passed away on New Year's Day.


Monday, 18 October 2010 19:33

O'Brien seals victory


LIMERICK SFC FINAL Monaleen 1-9 Adare 1-5

ADARE failed to score in the second half of a keenly-contested Limerick football final at Newcastle West as Monaleen won their third title this decade.
Liam Costelloe’s 18th minute goal helped Adare to a 1-5 to 0-4 interval lead but Monaleen took control in the second half. By the end of the third quarter they had drawn level thanks to two pointed frees by Muiris Gavin and two from play by Cormac Joyce-Power.
A superb solo run by county hurler Brian Geary set up Jason O’Brien for Monaleen’s goal which clinched their victory.
MONALEEN : D O’Sullivan; D Bourke, P King, F Nash; E Keating, B Fitzpatrick, J Hoare; B Geary, P Kinnerk; P Russell, L Kavanagh, C Joyce-Power (0-2); M Gavin (0-5, frees), J O’Brien (1-2) , M Crowley. Subs : P Quinn for Hoare (29 mins).
ADARE : B Toomey; C Cribben, D Mordan, S OConnell; S Lavin, W McNamara (P Lavin 52), F Kelleher; P Keane (M Clifford 11), J Hickey (0-3, frees) ; D Sheehan, C Fitzgerald (0-1, free) , W Griffin; L Costelloe (1-0), M Lyons (0-1) , N Mulvihill. Subs : M Clifford for Keane (11 mins), P Lavin for McNamara (52 mins).
Referee: D Enright (Dromin-Athlacca)


Wednesday, 05 January 2011 20:41

Conflict bequeaths costly legacy

By Damian Lawlor ©

LIMERICK hurling has been lurching from one crisis to another and although there have been calls from within for a new era of peace and goodwill, the county has not yet seen the last of controversy.
With the county board's annual convention approaching, old wounds have been re-opened in recent weeks, with secretary Mike O'Riordan among those offering an honest assessment: "Since October 12 months ago, this county has been dragged through the depths of what can only be described as torture. All sides were wrong, there is no two ways about that."
It may be that the appointment of Donal O'Grady as senior team manager has brought an end to the very public and highly acrimonious dispute which saw the 2009 squad refuse to play for Justin McCarthy but there are still some areas of contention to be resolved.
O'Riordan, for instance, warns that finance is the biggest challenge now facing the board. And he says it could take seven years for the board's improved emphasis on underage hurling to pay dividends.
"Lessons have been learned and we will endeavour to make sure events like this will never occur again," he told the Sunday Independent. "This time last year, we were in the middle of calls from players pulling out. The saga dragged on all over Christmas and only worsened as the year went on. It was a debacle, nothing else. It will be great to wave goodbye to 2010 and it's great to welcome in a new era with everyone on board."
But the problem for Limerick is that not everyone is "on board". Such has been the loss of confidence in the county board that there is a motion tabled to convention on January 4 to allow a new hurling board take control of all hurling affairs. A vote will be taken at that meeting and to succeed, it will need a two-thirds majority.

Monday, 18 October 2010 19:28

O'Brien shines for Monaleen


Monaleen 1-9 Adare 1-5

Limerick SFC final
Monday October 18 2010Adare failed to score in the second half of a keenly contested final at Newcastle west as Monaleen won their third title this decade.
Watched by new Limerick manager, Maurice Horan, both sides had some outstanding individual performers but the game lacked quality apart from the goals.
Adare grabbed the first goal after 18 minutes when Liam Costelloe blasted past Monaleen goalkeeper Donal O'Sullivan; this helped his side to an interval lead of 1-5 to 0-4.
That was as good as it got for Adare as Monaleen took control in the second half.
By the end of the third quarter Monaleen had drawn level thanks to two pointed frees by Muiris Gavin and two from play by Cormac Joyce-Power.
A superb solo run by county hurler Brian Geary, who raced 30 yards, created the Monaleen goal, which was scored by man of the match Jason O'Brien.
Adare were seeking their first title but their second-half waning must still have supporters wondering what went wrong.
In the second half Gavin, who finished with five points, all from frees, and Cormac Joyce Power had crucial scores, but it was O'Brien's goal that clinched matters for Monaleen.
Peter King, Barry Fitzpatrick and Eoin Keating shone in defence for Monaleen with O'Brien taking the honours in attack. Stephen Lavin was best for Adare in a final that was something of a disappointment.
Scorers -- Monaleen: J O'Brien 1-2, M Gavin 0-5 (0-5f), C Joyce Power 0-2. Adare: J Hickey 0-3 (0-3f), L Costelloe 1-0, C Fitzgerald (0-1f), M Lyons 0-1 each.
Monaleen -- D O'Sullivan; D Bourke, P King, F Nash; E Keating, B Fitzpatrick, J Hoare; B Geary, P Kinnerk; P Russell, L Kavanagh, C Joyce Power; M Gavin, J O'Brien, M Crowley. Sub: P Quinn for Hoare (29).
Adare -- B Toomey; C Cribben, D Mordan, S O'Connell; S Lavin, W McNamara, F Kelleher; P Keane, J Hickey; D Sheehan, C Fitzgerald, W Griffin; L Costelloe, M Lyons, N Mulvihill. Subs: M Clifford for Keane (11), P Lavin for McNamara (52).
Ref -- D Enright (Dromin-Athlacca).


<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next > End >>

Page 11 of 18
Joomla 1.5 Templates by Joomlashack