Custom Search

Limerick's GAA History

Limerick's GAA History Login

Whos Online

We have 8 guests online

Ninja RSS Syndicator

TreatyGAA RSS Feed

Future Fixtures

No events
Monday, 18 October 2010 19:28

O'Brien shines for Monaleen


Monaleen 1-9 Adare 1-5

Limerick SFC final
Monday October 18 2010Adare failed to score in the second half of a keenly contested final at Newcastle west as Monaleen won their third title this decade.
Watched by new Limerick manager, Maurice Horan, both sides had some outstanding individual performers but the game lacked quality apart from the goals.
Adare grabbed the first goal after 18 minutes when Liam Costelloe blasted past Monaleen goalkeeper Donal O'Sullivan; this helped his side to an interval lead of 1-5 to 0-4.
That was as good as it got for Adare as Monaleen took control in the second half.
By the end of the third quarter Monaleen had drawn level thanks to two pointed frees by Muiris Gavin and two from play by Cormac Joyce-Power.
A superb solo run by county hurler Brian Geary, who raced 30 yards, created the Monaleen goal, which was scored by man of the match Jason O'Brien.
Adare were seeking their first title but their second-half waning must still have supporters wondering what went wrong.
In the second half Gavin, who finished with five points, all from frees, and Cormac Joyce Power had crucial scores, but it was O'Brien's goal that clinched matters for Monaleen.
Peter King, Barry Fitzpatrick and Eoin Keating shone in defence for Monaleen with O'Brien taking the honours in attack. Stephen Lavin was best for Adare in a final that was something of a disappointment.
Scorers -- Monaleen: J O'Brien 1-2, M Gavin 0-5 (0-5f), C Joyce Power 0-2. Adare: J Hickey 0-3 (0-3f), L Costelloe 1-0, C Fitzgerald (0-1f), M Lyons 0-1 each.
Monaleen -- D O'Sullivan; D Bourke, P King, F Nash; E Keating, B Fitzpatrick, J Hoare; B Geary, P Kinnerk; P Russell, L Kavanagh, C Joyce Power; M Gavin, J O'Brien, M Crowley. Sub: P Quinn for Hoare (29).
Adare -- B Toomey; C Cribben, D Mordan, S O'Connell; S Lavin, W McNamara, F Kelleher; P Keane, J Hickey; D Sheehan, C Fitzgerald, W Griffin; L Costelloe, M Lyons, N Mulvihill. Subs: M Clifford for Keane (11), P Lavin for McNamara (52).
Ref -- D Enright (Dromin-Athlacca).


Joomla 1.5 Templates by Joomlashack