Thursday, 21 July 2011 23:15

Limerick Team to Play Dublin in All Ireland Quarter Final

1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. David Moloney (Blackrock)

3. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)

4. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)

5. Wayne McNamara (Adare)

6. Brian Geary (Monaleen)

7. Gavin O'Mahoney (Kilmallock)(Capt.)

8. Donal O'Grady (Granagh/Ballingarry)

9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

10. Niall Moran (Ahane)

11. James Ryan (Garryspillane)

12. Declan Hannon (Adare)

13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Seán Tobin (Murroe/Boher)

16. Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown)

17. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)

18. Stephen Lucey (Croom)

19. David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

20. Paudie O'Brien (Kilmallock)

21. Mark O'Riordan (Croom)

22. Eoin Ryan (Kilmallock)

23. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)

24. Thomas O'Brien (Patrickswell)

25. Pat Tobin (Murroe/Boher)

26. Donie Ryan (Garryspillane)

Saturday, 25 June 2011 11:18

Árd Scoil stars key in Limerick’s race for final

Munster MHC: Fintan O'Toole © Examiner Publication (Cork) Limited

Saturday, June 25, 2011

LIMERICK bid to reach their first Munster MHC final since 2005 when they take on Waterford at Walsh Park this evening (7.30pm).

The Shane Fitzgibbon-coached side demonstrated their credentials when defeating Cork in the opening round in April. Árd Scoil Rís stars, full-back Barry O'Connell, centre-back Ciaran Keogh and centre-forward Shane Dowling, provide a strong spine to the Shannonsiders' team. The return of Mark Carmody, who missed the victory over Cork, is a boost to their attack while David Reidy, who impressed for Charleville CBS in the Dr Harty Cup, is also a key man.

Waterford manager Liam O'Connor includes impressive midfielder Gavin O'Brien in his side after injury.

Elsewhere, the two semi-finals in the Leinster MHC, are down for decision this evening. Dublin, led by young attacking star Ciaran Kilkenny, host Westmeath in Parnell Park at 7pm.

Kilkenny, anchored by Owen McGrath and Kevin Kelly, visit Wexford Park to take on the home side at 7pm.

In Connacht, Galway face Sligo in a Markievicz Park quarter-final. Tomorrow Mayo, captained by Conor O'Shea, younger brother of seniors Aidan and Seamus, face Roscommon in the semi-final in Castlebar.

WATERFORD: P Cooke (Ballygunner); J Barron (Fourmilewater), D Ahern (Ferrybank), C Walsh (St Olivers); S O'Neill (Mount Sion), D Foley (Clashmore), S Roche (Cois Brid); G O'Brien (Roanmore), R Barry (St Carthages); S McNulty (De La Salle), J Dillon (De La Salle), A O'Sullivan (De La Salle); S Bennett (St Carthages), D Flynn (Erins Own), C Chester (Roanmore).

LIMERICK: PJ Hall (Adare); S Irwin (Bruff), B O Connell (Kildimo), B Murphy (Fedamore); L Ryan (Doon), C Keogh (Na Piarsaigh), B Lynch (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), D Morrissey (Ahane), D Dee (Mungret); D Reidy (Dromin/Athlacca), S Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), M Carmody (Patrickswell); K O' Brien (Patrickswell), M Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), J Aherne (Kileedy).

CLICK FOR ORIGINAL ARTICLE © Examiner Publication (Cork) Limited

Monday, 04 April 2011 09:52

O’Hanrahan the hero as Kieran’s are kings again

By Fintan O'Toole © Examiner Publications (Cork) Limited

St Kieran’s (Kilkenny) 2-10 Árd Scoil Rís (Limerick) 1-11 
IN the end there was to be no hurling romance in Semple Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

a d v e r t i s e m e n t

The remarkable progress made by Árd Scoil Rís in recent years brought them to the brink of All-Ireland colleges hurling glory yet their hopes were dashed in the cruellest fashion. As this decider entered injury-time, they held a 1-11 to 1-9 advantage after a resilient second-half display had seen them overturn a four-point deficit to surge ahead.

But there is a reason why St Kieran's had accumulated 17 Croke Cup titles before Saturday's clash. When the action was fraught with tension, their latest collection of talented youngsters displayed a glacial nerve to collect the school's 18th crown. In the 62nd minute midfielder Conor O'Shea burst down the right wing and he arrowed the ball across the square for Thomas O'Hanrahan to finish to the net.

Árd Scoil Rís quickly fired out the puckout but their move broke down and substitute Richie Reid popped over the score that sent St Kieran's into a two-point lead. There was still time for a late slice of drama. Árd Scoil Rís were awarded a 20-yard free just to the right of the goal. Shane Dowling stood over the ball, missed the pick up before whipping a drive that midfielder Jamie Shanahan doubled on but his effort went the wrong side of the upright and the Kilkenny nursery just hung on.

For the second year in a row Árd Scoil Rís found themselves in a state of anguish after hurling against St Kieran's. Last season the Kilkenny side hit 1-5 without reply in the last 10 minutes to win by three points but this reversal was more dramatic and more devastating for Árd Scoil Rís.

"What's there to say?" pondered a downcast Árd Scoil Rís boss Derek Larkin after the final whistle. "It's simply gut-wrenching. I thought we'd the hard work done. We were four points down in the second-half and the lads showed incredible character then to go two points up. Certainly that was a massive opportunity for us to win an All-Ireland. They're brilliant kids on our team and this result is hard to take."

Sunday, 10 July 2011 23:39

O'Grady's men take full advantage of Stewart exit


Limerick 3-22 Antrim 0-12: DONAL O'GRADY saw his side crush 14-man Antrim at Parnell Park on Saturday to book an All-Ireland quarter-final date with Dublin.

A straight red card for Antrim's Karl Stewart in the 28th minute for a stamp on Brian Geary ruined what had been a close fought encounter up until then and one that the Ulster champions had dominated.

But with Limerick's exciting young forward Declan Hannon prominent, the Treaty men soon maximised their advantage, with a brilliant Niall Moran goal sending them 1-10 to 0-8 clear at half-time.

Neil McManus had inspired the Glens men into a 0-6 to 0-3 lead by the 19th minute before a sluggish Limerick finally settled.

Dinny Cahill's men made a brave effort at the start of the second half, but they never looked like getting the goal they needed. Meanwhile, well taken Limerick goals from David Breen and Richie McCarthy effectively ended the contest by the 58th minute.

Tipperary native Cahill said after he'll take time to reflect before deciding whether to stay on in charge of the Saffrons.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; D Maloney, S Hickey, T Condon (0-1); W McNamara, B Geary (0-1, 65), G O'Mahony (0-1); D O'Grady (0-1), M O'Riordan (0-2); N Moran (1-1), J Ryan (0-2), D Hannon (0-8, five frees); S Tobin (0-3), K Downes (0-1), R McCarthy (1-1). Subs: D Breen (1-0) for Downes, P O'Brien for O'Grady (both h-t), T O'Brien for Moran, S Lucey for Geary, S Walsh for O'Meara (all 61 mins).

ANTRIM: C O'Connell; A Graffin, C Donnelly, K McGourty; N McAuley, M Herron, S McCrory; P Shiels, N McManus (0-8, six frees); E McCloskey (0-2), K Stewart, C McFall; J Scullion, D Hamill (0-1), C McCann (0-1). Subs: B McFall for Scullion (45 mins), C Carson for McCloskey (57 mins), C Herron for McCrory (62 mins).

Referee: J Owens (Wexford).


Thursday, 23 June 2011 23:07

Limerick Minor Team to play Waterford on Saturday

1  PJ Hall   (Adare)
2  Shane Irwin  (Bruff)
3  Barry O Connell  ( Kildimo)
4  Brian Murphy (Fedamore)
5  Liam Ryan (Doon)
6  Ciaran Keogh  (Na Piarsaigh)
7  Barry Lynch  (Feohanagh/Castlemahon)
8  Dan Morrissey    (Ahane)
9  Diarmuid Dee    (Mungret)
10 David Reidy  (Dromin/Athlacca)
11 Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
12  Mark Carmody  (Patrickswell)
13 Kevin O' Brien (Patrickswell)
14 Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh/Castlemahon)
15 Jack Aherne  ( Kileedy )
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 4